7th Doctor Novels


Published from 1973 – 1991 (and incorporating three previously published novelizations from the 1960s) the Target novelizations were for many years the only way to re-experience Doctor Who. With no market for video, many authors (although mainly Terrance Dicks) recreated Doctor Who stories in print. The books were not released in chronological orders, so readers had to do a bit of investigation to determine which Doctor they were reading about. Some of the books are being reprinted, a few have been re-released as audio books. They are a part of Doctor Who history and a big part of early Doctor Who fandom.

  • Time and the Rani
  • Paradise Towers
  • Delta and the Bannermen
  • Dragonfire
  • Remembrance of the Daleks
  • The Happiness Patrol
  • Silver Nemesis
  • The Greatest Show in the Galaxy
  • Battlefield
  • Ghost Light
  • The Curse of Fenric
  • Survival

The New Adventures

When televised Doctor Who ended in 1989, Virgin Publishing picked up the franchise and moved forward. The New Adventures (NAs) were unique in the tie-in world in that they were not novelizations (as the Target books were) or stories that happened between televised episodes (although that would follow with the Missing Adventures). Instead, the NAs were the continuation of the series. The novels pick up where “Survival” left off and moved the Seventh Doctor and Ace forward. The series introduced new companions, established new authors, and included writers from the televised series such as Terrence Dick, Andrew Cartmel, and Marc Platt. While the NAs most-likely did not represent where the televised series would have gone, it did elaborate on themes present in the final two years of Doctor Who: manipulation, galactic chess master, fights against gods, and mysteries about who the Doctor really is (more than just another Time Lord?). The NAs were pulled by different thematic poles—traditional stories that could possibly be imagined on television or radical stories that pushed Doctor Who into new thematic and content territory. It should come as no surprise that some of the latter seem reminiscent of stories being told by Alan Moore and Grant Morrison. All of these author were coming out of the same cultural stew.

The New Adventures ended in 1997 after the Eighth Doctor was introduced on television. The final novel featured this new Doctor, and the BBC let the license with Virgin expire as they planned another future for the Doctor.

  • Timewyrm: Genesys
  • Timewyrm: Exodus
  • Timewyrm: Apocalypse
  • Timewyrm: Revelation
  • Cat’s Cradle: Time’s Crucible
  • Cat’s Cradle: Warhead
  • Cat’s Cradle: Witch Mark
  • Nightshade
  • Love and War
  • Transit
  • The Highest Science
  • The Pit
  • Deceit
  • Lucifer Rising
  • White Darkness
  • Shadowmind
  • Birthright
  • Iceberg
  • Blood Heat
  • The Dimension Riders
  • The Left-Handed Hummingbird
  • Conundrum
  • No Future
  • Tragedy Day
  • Legacy
  • Theatre of War
  • All-Consuming Fire
  • Blood Harvest
  • Strange England
  • First Frontier
  • St. Anthony’s Fire
  • Falls the Shadow
  • Parasite
  • Warlock
  • Set Piece
  • Infinite Requiem
  • Sanctuary
  • Human Nature
  • Original Sin
  • Sky Pirates!
  • Zamper
  • Toy Soldiers
  • Head Games
  • The Also People
  • Shakedown
  • Just War
  • Warchild
  • Death and Diplomacy
  • Happy Endings
  • GodEngine
  • Christmas on a Rational Planet
  • Return of the Living Dad
  • The Death of Art
  • Damaged Goods
  • So Vile a Sin
  • Bad Therapy
  • Eternity Weeps
  • The Room with No Doors
  • Lungbarrow

Past Doctor Adventures

Following the example set by Virgin Publishing, BBC Books continued a line of all-new adventures for past Doctors, this time incorporating Doctors 1 – 7. The series ended in 2005 as the BBC changed its focus to the new series.

  • Illegal Alien
  • The Hollow Men
  • Matrix
  • Storm Harvest
  • Prime Time
  • Independence Day
  • Bullet time
  • Relative Dementias
  • Heritage
  • Loving the Alien
  • The Colony of Lies
  • The Algebra of Ice
  • Atom Bomb Blues

Telos Novellas

In the early 2000s, Telos Publishing released fifteen novellas featuring Doctors 1 – 8 (with two unspecified Doctors). Each novella featured original artwork as a frontispiece.

  • Citadel of Dreams
  • Companion Piece

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s