4th Doctor Novels


Published from 1973 – 1991 (and incorporating three previously published novelizations from the 1960s) the Target novelizations were for many years the only way to re-experience Doctor Who. With no market for video, many authors (although mainly Terrance Dicks) recreated Doctor Who stories in print. The books were not released in chronological orders, so readers had to do a bit of investigation to determine which Doctor they were reading about. Some of the books are being reprinted, a few have been re-released as audio books. They are a part of Doctor Who history and a big part of early Doctor Who fandom.

  • The Giant Robot
  • The Ark in Space
  • The Sontaran Experiment
  • The Genesis of the Daleks
  • The Revenge of the Cybermen
  • The Loch Ness Monster
  • The Planet of Evil
  • The Pyramids of Mars
  • The Android Invasion
  • The Brain of Morbius
  • The Seeds of Doom
  • The Masque of Mandragora
  • The Hand of Fear
  • The Deadly Assassin
  • The Face of Evil
  • The Robots of Death
  • The Talons of Weng-Chiang
  • The Horror of Fang Rock
  • The Invisible Enemy
  • The Image of the Fendahl
  • The Sun Makers
  • The Underwater Menace
  • The Invasion of Time
  • The Ribos Operation
  • The Stones of Blood
  • The Androids of Tara
  • The Power of Kroll
  • The Armageddon Factor
  • The Destiny of the Daleks
  • The Creature from the Pit
  • The Nightmare of Eden
  • The Horns of Nimon
  • Shada (not originally a Target book, but still a novelization)
  • The Leisure Hive
  • Meglos
  • Full Circle
  • The State of Decay
  • Warriors’ Gate
  • The Keeper of Traken
  • Logopolis

Missing Adventures

After successfully launching the New Adventures, a series which continued the adventures of the Seventh Doctor and Ace after the cancellation of Doctor Who in 1989, Virgin Publishing began releasing original novels with past Doctors. These novels filled gaps between episodes and posited new adventures for Doctors 1 – 6. They are steeped more firmly in the New Adventure mythology, so they present an interesting critique of the past Doctors.

  • Evolution
  • The Romance of Crime
  • System Shock
  • Managra
  • The English Way of Death
  • The Shadow of Weng-Chiang
  • A Device of Death
  • The Well-Mannered War

Past Doctor Adventures

Following the example set by Virgin Publishing, BBC Books continued a line of all-new adventures for past Doctors, this time incorporating Doctors 1 – 7. The series ended in 2005 as the BBC changed its focus to the new series.

  • Eye of Heaven
  • Last Man Running
  • Millennium Shock
  • Corpse Marker
  • Tomb of Valdemar
  • Heart of TARDIS
  • Festival of Death
  • Asylum
  • Psi-ence Fiction
  • Drift
  • Wolfsbane
  • Match of the Day

Telos Novellas

In the early 2000s, Telos Publishing released fifteen novellas featuring Doctors 1 – 8 (with two unspecified Doctors). Each novella featured original artwork as a frontispiece.

  • Ghost Ship

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s