3rd Doctor Novels


Published from 1973 – 1991 (and incorporating three previously published novelizations from the 1960s) the Target novelizations were for many years the only way to re-experience Doctor Who. With no market for video, many authors (although mainly Terrance Dicks) recreated Doctor Who stories in print. The books were not released in chronological orders, so readers had to do a bit of investigation to determine which Doctor they were reading about. Some of the books are being reprinted, a few have been re-released as audio books. They are a part of Doctor Who history and a big part of early Doctor Who fandom.

  • The Auton Invasion
  • The Cave-Monsters
  • The Ambassadors of Death
  • Inferno
  • The Terror of the Autons
  • The Mind of Evil
  • The Claws of Axos
  • The Doomsday Weapon
  • The Daemons
  • The Day of the Daleks
  • The Curse of Peladon
  • The Sea-Devils
  • The Mutants
  • The Time Monster
  • The Three Doctors
  • The Carnival of Monsters
  • The Space War
  • The Planet of the Daleks
  • The Green Death
  • The Time Warrior
  • The Dinosaur Invasion
  • Death to the Daleks
  • The Monster of Peladon
  • The Planet of the Spiders

Missing Adventures

After successfully launching the New Adventures, a series which continued the adventures of the Seventh Doctor and Ace after the cancellation of Doctor Who in 1989, Virgin Publishing began releasing original novels with past Doctors. These novels filled gaps between episodes and posited new adventures for Doctors 1 – 6. They are steeped more firmly in the New Adventure mythology, so they present an interesting critique of the past Doctors.

  • The Eye of the Giant
  • The Scales of Injustice
  • Dancing the Code
  • Speed of Flight

Past Doctor Adventures

Following the example set by Virgin Publishing, BBC Books continued a line of all-new adventures for past Doctors, this time incorporating Doctors 1 – 7. The series ended in 2005 as the BBC changed its focus to the new series.

  • The Devil Goblins from Neptune
  • Deadly Reunion
  • The Face of the Enemy
  • Rags
  • Verdigris
  • The Wages of Sin
  • The Suns of Caresh
  • Catastrophea
  • Last of the Gaderene
  • Amorality Tale
  • Island of Death

Telos Novellas

In the early 2000s, Telos Publishing released fifteen novellas featuring Doctors 1 – 8 (with two unspecified Doctors). Each novella featured original artwork as a frontispiece.

  • Nightdreamers


  • Harvest of Time



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s