2nd Doctor Novels


Published from 1973 – 1991 (and incorporating three previously published novelizations from the 1960s) the Target novelizations were for many years the only way to re-experience Doctor Who. With no market for video, many authors (although mainly Terrance Dicks) recreated Doctor Who stories in print. The books were not released in chronological orders, so readers had to do a bit of investigation to determine which Doctor they were reading about. Some of the books are being reprinted, a few have been re-released as audio books. They are a part of Doctor Who history and a big part of early Doctor Who fandom.

  • The Power of the Daleks
  • The Highlanders
  • The Underwater Menace
  • The Cybermen
  • The Macra Terror
  • The Faceless Ones
  • The Evil of the Daleks
  • The Tomb of the Cybermen
  • The Abominable Snowmen
  • The Ice Warriors
  • The Enemy of the World
  • The Web of Fear
  • Fury from the Deep
  • The Wheel in Space
  • The Dominators
  • The Mind Robber
  • The Invasion
  • The Krotons
  • The Seeds of Death
  • The Space Pirates
  • The War Games

Missing Adventures

After successfully launching the New Adventures, a series which continued the adventures of the Seventh Doctor and Ace after the cancellation of Doctor Who in 1989, Virgin Publishing began releasing original novels with past Doctors. These novels filled gaps between episodes and posited new adventures for Doctors 1 – 6. They are steeped more firmly in the New Adventure mythology, so they present an interesting critique of the past Doctors.

  • Invasion of the Cat-People
  • Twilight of the Gods
  • The Dark Path
  • The Menagerie

Past Doctor Adventures

Following the example set by Virgin Publishing, BBC Books continued a line of all-new adventures for past Doctors, this time incorporating Doctors 1 – 7. The series ended in 2005 as the BBC changed its focus to the new series.

  • The Murder Game
  • Dying in the Sun
  • The Roundheads
  • Heart of TARDIS
  • Dreams of Empire
  • Combat Rock
  • The Colony of Lies
  • The Indestructible Man
  • The Final Sanction
  • World Game

Telos Novellas

In the early 2000s, Telos Publishing released fifteen novellas featuring Doctors 1 – 8 (with two unspecified Doctors). Each novella featured original artwork as a frontispiece.

  • Wonderland
  • Foreign Devils


  • The Wheel of Ice



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s