Star Wars Canon Thoughts and Rambles

When Disney announced that the Star Wars Expanded Universe had been rebranded as the Legends line and that a new, official Star Wars canon would replace it, I was a bit sad but overall, I was excited. While the Expanded Universe held a lot of great memories for me, it was never officially canon, and I was excited to see what a streamlined, considered canon would look like. I remember the early days of the EU, when Timothy Zahn had completed his trilogy, Dark Horse comics had Dark Empire and Tales of the Jedi under their belt, and new novels were being announced (Truce at Bakura and The Courtship of Princess Leia). But the EU was being created one piece at a time. There were early continuity issues with Dark Empire and Heir to the Empire. Both were great stories, but Heir showed the New Republic established on Coruscant and Leia was pregnant with twins while Dark Empire showed the Battle of Coruscant and Leia pregnant with a third Solo child. The workaround was the DE took place after the Thrawn Trilogy, after the Empire attempted to retake Coruscant, but this never seemed that satisfying to me. It was obvious that DE was intended to be the continuation from Return of the Jedi, but Heir beat it to release, and both happened to be good enough that whoever decides things wanted both of them to be in continuity. And they deserved it, but there were definitely bumps to smooth out. And Kevin J. Anderson seemed very interested in attempting to do so, weaving as many continuity references into his work as he could.

In the lead up to the prequels, however, the quality of Star Wars stories varied greatly (for me), and there was quite a bit of uncertainty about how the prequels would affect the EU. George Lucas could do whatever he wanted with his creation, and if he wrote something that contradicted the EU, his vision stood (though how to reconcile his contradictions with himself is still a bit of an issue). A systematic categorization system was eventually developed by fans. This system involved multiple layers of canonicity, and it was quite complex and existed before the term “head canon” came into play. There were general attempts to create a comprehensive EU, but there wasn’t really an overriding vision until pretty late in the game, at which point we got the New Jedi Order, Legacy of the Force, and Fate of the Jedi. Dark Horse Comics had their own successful run at the time with Knights of the Old Republic, Dark Times, and Legacy. In general, the novels and comics didn’t attempt to cross-pollinate creatively, and they usually focused on their own mini-eras. This could still lead to contradiction, but by focusing on specific time periods, they didn’t need to worry too much about stepping on each others’ toes in a continuity sense.

I had pretty much stopped following Star Wars at that point. The prequels devastated my already waning interest. I dipped back in on occasion and was generally satisfied with what I read, though there were as many misses as there were hits. And any time Timothy Zahn wrote something, I had to read it.

All this to say, I sympathize with and completely understand why Disney would wipe the slate clean. As much as I would like Zahn’s work to stay firmly in continuity, the EU audience is still technically niche. For the most part, we will follow Star Wars in whatever form we get it. And speaking personally, I’m a huge fan of Doctor Who, so continuity issues are irritating but they don’t break the experience for me. But the idea of having an official canon that weaves through movies, TV, comics, and books is kind of exciting. My only real concern is that this official status puts more weight on individual pieces. Before, a boring or disliked book could be ignored because it wasn’t technically official. Now, it is official, whether we like it or not. And every work feels, to me, like it needs to contribute something worthy to the canon. There is a feeling that each work now has to justify its own existence because of its elevated, canonical status.

That’s how it feels, at any rate. In reality, it doesn’t really matter that much. There are good stories and there are bad stories and there are stories that fall all over the spectrum inbetween. Despite official canon, we can still pick and choose our head canon (even across the official and Legends lines, though there will now definitely be contradictions). And despite an official canon, I’m still very interested in reading through the Legends line. In fact, knowing that the Legends line has a definitive ending is encouraging. It is like knowing you can get a complete run of a comic series.

I had been thinking about blogging through the Legends line. I’ve also thought about blogging through the new canon line. In reality, I may do both, but not with any regular pace. Life and work are extremely busy right now, and sometimes I can’t stand to be in front of a computer screen for reading/writing purposes when I get home. And with the way finances are at the moment (good, but recovering from my last couple of semesters of college), I won’t be keeping up with Star Wars canonical books and comics as they come out. I prefer Star Wars books in paperback for some reason, and comics are beyond my budget at the moment. But hopefully I’ll be able to catch up to the SW canon paperbacks soon. I’ve actually read New Dawn, Tarkin, and Heir to the Jedi. The urge to blog about them continues to nag at the fringes of my mind. Now that I’ve come up with a new review format, the chances of me taking the time to move forward on this project are more likely. I need this creative outlet. So if you are willing to read, I’ll work on finding the time and mental energy to write.

 

Leave a Reply

