First Time For Everything: Planet Comicon

A photograph of the exhibitor and vendor hall.

My friend Nick has been trying to get me to go to Planet Comicon in Kansas City for the last couple of years. Money has always been tight and the con typically fell on inconvenient weekends during the school year. This year, however, events aligned for me to go: Nick paid for my ticket, the con fell at the end of Spring Break, and Sylvester McCoy came. This last on is a big deal. Living in the Mid-West, specifically Springfield, Missouri, Doctor Who-related celebrities are rare. The closest con for a Doctor Who appearance is Chicago TARDIS, and that is an eight-hour drive. The trip is not economically feasible for me.

Kansas City, however, is about a three-hour drive, and I know people in the area, which allows me to keep the costs down.

Planet Comicon was my first big convention. Springfield has a few, but they are small (but growing). I was nervous. The semester has been busy and intellectually challenging. I have had some significant questions about my education and career this year, culminating in a trip to the local Career Expo which made me realize that I don’t want to pursue certain careers in the technical writing field. I’m not sure software documentation is part of my future. After a few hours at the expo, I was in a panic, questioning why I ever returned to school. Is this what it will be like at a comic convention?

Thankfully, no. Planet Comicon was a lot of fun. I went with Nick and a couple of his friends, and while I spent most of my time wandering the booths and attending the panels alone, I felt refreshed by the eagerness and excitement of the attendees. (I feed off energy in crowds, and the Career Expo had an energy of mild desperation, which really messed with my emotions.) I felt largely accepted and enjoyed some of the brief interactions I had with creators such as Jeremy Haun, Greg Rucka, and Alex Grecian. I hope to go back next year, maybe with more writing under my belt and more of an idea of how to start networking with creators. They currently are where I want to be.

mccoy1As mentioned earlier, Sylvester McCoy was one of the celebrity guests. I couldn’t afford to get his autograph, but his panel was extremely fun. He walked the crowd, answering questions from the audience as he went along. I had a seat near the aisle, which enabled me to get a few pictures. He told some wonderful stories. He told about meeting Matt Smith while filming the 5(ish) Doctors Reboot. “He bounded up to me like an Afghan hound, all limbs and excitement, and licked me on the face.” He discussed the changes to Doctor Who while he was on the show, explaining that he was only going to stick with it for three years, but signing on for four because he was told the show would be cancelled if he didn’t stay on. It was cancelled anyway. He expressed his displeasure at his Doctor’s regeneration. And he played the spoons. I’m thrilled that I got to see him so soon after watching his era in its entirety for the first time.

In all, Planet Comicon was a great introduction to the fan-convention world. I look forward to checking out a few of the local cons in the upcoming year, and I look forward to going to Planet Comicon again next year. Maybe one day I will be able to make the great pilgrimage to the Gallifrey Convention.

Sylvester McCoy answers a question from an audience member

Leave a Reply

