Doctor Who – The King’s Demons

Doctor Who Story 128 – The King’s Demons

Written by

Terence Dudley

What’s It About?

On the verge of the revolt that led to the Magna Carta, the Doctor, Tegan, and Turlough discover a conspiracy that could change the course of history.

Another way of keeping warm
A knight on horseback investigates the TARDIS
Do not get your hopes up; this is nothing like The Crusade

I have tried hard to come up with things to say about this story. I don’t want to come down harshly on it because when I started reintroducing myself to Doctor Who while I was in college, “The King’s Demons” was one of the stories I watched. It was part of a VHS collection that also contained “The Five Doctors.” Even though I knew this story was nothing particularly special, it was connected to a story that I had fond memories of watching when I was a child—connected by being in the same box. And, having watched over half of the Davison era for this blog, I have discovered that most of my dislike for his Doctor was rooted in this story. I used this story as the indication of what the Davison era was like. This was a mistake.

And while this story isn’t, to my thinking, particularly horrible, it also isn’t very interesting. That seems its biggest crime. It isn’t long enough or even interesting enough to be irritating or frustrating. I can’t bring myself to hate it or have any emotional reaction to it other than, “well, that was . . . kinda pointless.”

So here we are. A story that is memorable in part due to daft master plan of the Master and the general pointlessness of the adventure. At two episodes, it is hardly painful. I can’t hate it. There’s no point. All I can do is make sure I don’t judge the entire era by this one story. I’ve learned that lesson.

My Rating

1.5/5

Leave a Reply

