Meanwhile, Across the Web….

For context, I graduated from high school in 1998.

Cover for The Freedon Nadd Uprising #1. (Source: Wookieepedia. Copyright by Dark Horse Comics.

I was a Star Wars nerd in high school. I liken my Star Wars fandom to keeping the Doctor Who flame burning during the gap years. A handful of writers and artists kept the story alive. Timothy Zahn wrote his wonderful Thrawn trilogy. Dark Horse Comics released Dark Empire and Tales of the Jedi, both written by Tom Veitch and illustrated by Cam Kennedy (former) and Chris Gosset (and a handful of other artists for the latter). Between Zahn and Veitch, both sides of the Star Wars coin were explored: military science fiction and mythology. In their own way, each author was completely faithful to the spirit of Star Wars while still providing their unique take on the universe. They set the groundwork for the expanded universe.

In 1999, the prequels were unleashed and everything changed. The richness of Star Wars was crushed for me. I don’t wish to spit on anyone’s prequel fandom; I just don’t like the prequels. I have occasionally revisited the original trilogy, and I cannot purge Episodes I,II, and III from my mind. There was a better way to tell the story.

Aaron Diaz, creator of the marvelous Dresden Codak web comic, would seem to feel the same way. He is an extremely busy man, but one of his pet projects is something he has christened Star Wars 1999. The premise is to tell the story of Obi Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker using the source material available in 1997. This is primarily the original trilogy of films, but secondary material would be from Dark Empire and Tales of the Jedi. I would love to see this concept come to fruition in the form of a comic.

Leave a Reply

