Leitmotif White Paper

I continue to wait for 2Entertain to release (or at the very least, announce a release date) for The Ambassadors of Death. In the meantime, I have been focusing quite a bit on school. It seems that as one assignment is completed, another follows. As busy as I have been, I have enjoyed the opportunities to learn about other forms of writing. Unfortunately, much of the writing I have done in class does not fit the scope of The Edwardian Adventurer, so I won’t be posting much of the school work here.

Today is the first day of spring break, however, and I hope to write up a few entries to keep the blog going. I’m not sure how many will focus on Doctor Who, but I hope they will prove to be interesting nonetheless. Today’s entry is one of the few writing assignments that can be duplicated. I was to research and write a white paper. What is a white paper? I had never heard this term prior to my technical writing class. White papers are typically reports or information-based papers that are used to communicate ideas that may be too long or detailed for brochures. They are typically written with a specific audience in mind. White papers may be more jargon-based than brochures.

Source: New York Times website. Copyright 2009 by The New York Times

My white paper assignment was to pick a topic to research and write a 2-3 page paper. I chose to research leitmotif, and focused on the use of motif in Wagner and a few modern sources. The target audience was the music fan who has a passion for modern music but who may not be familiar with the concepts and forms of classical music. What is particularly fun is that Murray Gold uses leitmotif in his Doctor Who scores. Variations on I Am The Doctor have been used in series 5 and 6. Martha’s Theme reappeared again and again in series 3.

If you are so inclined, the white paper is below, in .pdf format.

Variations of a Theme: An Introduction to Leitmotif

Leave a Reply

