The Day of the Triffids: An Introduction

Image Source: Wikipedia

The first book I will be reading for Vintage Sci-Fi Month is The Day of The Triffids by John Wyndham.  I have long wanted to read this book, so I’m happy for the prompting.  I looked for this book for a couple of years in the book shops around town, finally finding it in a going out of business sale.  As with most eagerly-sought books, I put it directly on the shelf, unread.  Better late than never.

Wyndham seems to be an author who has had quite a bit of influence on the British sci-fi psyche.  Many of his books have an apocalyptic flavor and as Triffids was published less than ten years after World War II ended, I’m not surprised.  The war with Nazi Germany had ended and the Cold War had begun.  These were not optimistic times.  Wyndham has been praised for his ability to take world-wide catastrophe and scale it down to the personal level, filtering events through the eyes of a few individuals, thus creating an intimate feel for the drama and conflict.

The Day of the Triffids has been adapted twice for BBC television, once in 1981 and again in 2009.  It has also influenced numerous works, not least of which is 28 Days Later.  As I started reading the book, the narrator says,

“The way I came to miss the end of the world–well, the end of the world I had known for close on thirty years–was sheer accident: like a lot of survival, when you come to think of it.  In the nature of thins a good many somebodies are always in hospital, and the law of averages had picked on me to be one of them a week or so before.”

28 Days Later did a direct homage to this when Cillian Murphy’s character Jim wakes up in the hospital after the rage virus has ravaged London.  And it is also hard to not see traces of this in Dalek Invasion of Earth.

While this will be my first time with Triffids (I haven’t even seen the BBC adaptations . . . some Anglophile I am), it will not be my first Wyndham story. I heard a radio adaptation of Chrysalids once and it was quite compelling and horrifying.  Yet, there was something oddly familiar about it.  Wyndham seems brilliant at filtering his visions through a human lens that makes them familiar and real.  I’m looking forward to this book.

So, what are the opinions out there about John Wyndham and Day of The Triffids?

10 thoughts on “The Day of the Triffids: An Introduction

  1. I haven’t read this, but thanks to your review, now I really want to! and apparently there are some BBC adaptations (or at least one) that I need to add to my Netflix.

  2. You didn’t mention the bad film that was made (and is worth avoiding). The recent BBC series is too far from the original IMHO as well

    The book is fantastic though slightly of its time – it is one of the best Wyndham novels alongside I would suggest Midwich Cuckoos and Chocky.

    If you like this, pick up ‘Death of Grass’ which seems similar but is rather grittier.

    This is also often cited as an influence on the BBC show Survivors

  3. I read Day of the Triffids quite a while ago and reading this has made me want to go find it again. I really enjoyed it and thought it was a brilliant story really well told. I don’t think any of the adaptations for tv/movie have compared favourably.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

