Um . . . Where Am I?

Source: Screen capture from Dominators DVD
Skirts from Ikea's home furnishings catalogue.

Okay, so I took a break after The Wheel in Space as I attempted to decide if I had money in the budget for The Dominators.  Thankfully, my local library had a copy of the DVD, so I get to save the money that I didn’t really have.  Then we had Thanksgiving, which was a lot of fun.  My wife and I hosted at our house this year and were able to squeeze fourteen people into a three bedroom house.  It was cramped but a lot of fun.  But you probably don’t care as much about that, so . . . Doctor Who.

I started watching The Dominators tonight.  After series five, which was a lot of reconstructions, I thought I would be looking forward to this mostly-complete season.  Sadly, I’m not.  I feel like I’m dragging my feet to keep interest.  I’m not sure if I’m just burned out going in to the holiday season or if I haven’t been enjoying Doctor Who as much as I did a year ago.  In truth, I miss William Hartnell.  Oddly enough, I find that I am also missing Russell T. Davies Doctor Who and that really surprises me.

Regardless, I’m pressing on.  I haven’t heard good things about The Dominators and after the first episode I haven’t quite been sucked back in to the project with enthusiasm.  But we will see.  If nothing else, I’m only nine episodes away from The Invasion.

Has anyone reading this seen The Dominators?  Should I dread it or is it surprisingly good in the end?

4 thoughts on “Um . . . Where Am I?

  1. “In truth, I miss William Hartnell.”

    So said also the National Press in Britain during – nay, throughout – the Troughton years.

    Newspapers gave consistently bad reviews to Troughton serials, and overseas tv stations refused to buy those serials.

    This affection for Hartnell – the real Doctor Who – became akin to the great national hatred of Roger Moore in the role of James Bond, when he took over from Sean Connery.

    You have just experienced Troughton-phobia for yourself. Why do you suppose you were forced to sit through so many reconstructions of lost Troughton stories? Because few overseas buyers wanted to pay for screening rights in serials that Mr Hartnell wasn’t in.

    The problems of the missing episodes all stem from, at root, the horror which swept the world when the title role was re-cast. Not among kids, who were on the whole more interested in the monsters than in the other characters; but this was NOT a children’s programme, it was a family show, and there was a certain resistance among older viewers to the loss of the beloved and much missed William Hartnell.

    Today, people are used to seeing different actors in the lead role in Who. But the first time it happened, it was a big shock. What would the tv audience say if screen legend William Shatner was replaced by Joe Bloggs as Kirk, in season 2 and 3 of ‘Star Trek’ in 1967/69? Replacing loveable William Hartnell with largely unknown Pat Troughton was a big, big change; and it had big, big consequences, in terms of which episodes would survive into the present.

Leave a Reply

