Grimm – Beeware

Written by Cameron Litvack and Thania St. John
Directed by Darnell Martin

The one with mob flash dancing and bees.

I decided to give Once Upon a Time five episodes to win me.  Best out of five.  I’m giving Grimm the same, and so far, while OuaT is up by two, Grimm is down by the same amount.  But to be fair, my dislike of Grimm’s previous two episodes isn’t as deep as my dislike of OuaT’s pilot.  You see, I really want to like Grimm.  I told my wife that Grimm is the show that would fill the hole left by The X-Files if you haven’t yet found Fringe.  It involves outlandish, often ridiculous, murder investigations in the same vein as The X-Files.  It can provide good doses of horror.  And yet, as much as I want to love this show, I seem to keep it at a slight distance.  There is a story arc rumbling beneath the surface, but I’m not sure where it is going yet so I can’t tell if I like it.  I certainly don’t find it compelling yet.  As it stands, it is a show that I would watch if it was on, but probably not seek out, which is a problem as I watch most of my shows on either DVD or the internet.  If I get behind on Grimm, I would have to purchase the episodes via iTunes or Amazon, and I’m not sure I want to pay for this show.  The fact that this show now has two strikes against it out of three episodes, concerns me.  Again, I want to like it.  With the exception of the girlfriend, I enjoy all the characters.  I like the premise.  I like that often the crimes have been normal human crimes committed by non-humans.  I guess I just want to see more of the world.  Sure, monster-of-the-week is a type of world building, but I know there has to be some amazing mythology deep in the story because The Brothers Grimm wrote their book centuries ago and these different races would have developed their own cultures and the Grimms would have created their own as well.  I feel like we are only scratching the surface of the bubble of ideas, and not even hard enough to break it open.  I want to see something bigger and more interesting than merely Grimms hunting monsters and monsters hunting Grimms.

I’m trying to be fair with the monsters as well.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t feel like I wasted my time watching Beeware, but when I was telling my wife about the episode, I became aware of how silly the plot was when you reduced it to its core.  Bee people killing lawyers during mob flash dancing.  Now, I don’t have a problem with that sentence, per se.  I just couldn’t help feeling that such a premise should have been written by Russell T. Davies.  It’s rather absurd, but that doesn’t mean it has to be bad.  Grimm takes it seriously, which is fine, I guess.  It just didn’t hold up to thinking about it.  I feel rather stupid discussing the appropriate tone about a story of murderous bee people in the context of a show about a secret society that hunts fairytale monsters.  But it still stands.  What is the appropriate tone for a story about bee people?  Do you play it silly and absurd and just make it fun or do you play it as horror and try to make it disturbing?  I don’t think I have the answer to this.

Leave a Reply

